Trackware.7FaSStSearch

Trackware.7FaSStSearch

Updated:
13 February 2007
Version:
3.0
Publisher:
Emergency 24, Inc
Risk Impact:
Low
Systems Affected:
Windows

Behavior


Trackware.7FaSStSearch is a program that gathers Web-browsing habits of users and sends them to a central server.

Symptoms


The presence of an Internet Explorer toolbar labeled "7Search."

Behavior


Must be manually installed.

Antivirus Protection Dates

  • Initial Rapid Release version 02 October 2014 revision 022
  • Latest Rapid Release version 01 February 2015 revision 020
  • Initial Daily Certified version 20 May 2003
  • Latest Daily Certified version 28 September 2010 revision 036
  • Initial Weekly Certified release date 22 May 2003
Click here for a more detailed description of Rapid Release and Daily Certified virus definitions.

When Trackware.7FaSStSearch is installed, it performs the following actions:
  1. Displays the following End User License Agreement (EULA) that a user must agree to before the program is installed:

    "You are in full agreement that to gather the information necessary to provide our Information service requires our Software to gather URL and duration information of all web sites visits by the person using your computer while browsing the Internet. This information is then transferred to our database in order to provide you and other users with our 7FaSSt Search(tm) traffic reports. You are in full agreement to the transfer of any and all information necessary to provide the 7FaSSt Search(tm) services to others."

  2. Registers itself as a Browser Helper Object so that it will run each time Internet Explorer starts.

    Note: Browser Helper Objects require Internet Explorer 4.0, or later to run.

  3. Submits Internet usage statistics to fstrack.7search.com which redirects to data.browseraccelerator.com.



The following instructions pertain to all Symantec antivirus products that support security risk detection.
  1. Uninstall the security risk.
  2. Update the definitions.
  3. Run a full system scan.
For specific details on each of these steps, read the following instructions.

1. To uninstall the security risk
This security risk includes an uninstallation applet. In order to uninstall this security risk, complete the following instructions:
  1. Click Start > Settings > Control Panel or Start > Control Panel (this varies with the operating system).

  2. In the Control Panel window, double-click Add/Remove Programs.

    Windows Me only: If you do not see the Add/Remove Programs icon, click ...view all Control Panel options.

  3. Click 7FaSStSearch (Version 3.0)

    Note:
    You may need to use the scroll bar to view the whole list.

  4. Click Add/Remove, Change/Remove, or Remove (this varies with the operating system). Follow the prompts.

    Note: After running the Add/Remove programs applet, all the files may have been removed. You will want to run a full system scan to ensure that this is the case. However, it is possible that no files will be detected after using Add/Remove programs.


2. To update the definitions
To obtain the most recent definitions, start your Symantec program and run LiveUpdate.


3. To run the scan
  1. Start your Symantec antivirus program, and then run a full system scan.
  2. If any files are detected, and depending on which software version you are using, you may see one or more of the following options:

    Note: This applies only to versions of Norton AntiVirus that support security risk detection. If you are running a version of Symantec AntiVirus Corporate Edition that supports security risk detection, and security risk detection has been enabled, you will only see a message box that gives the results of the scan. If you have questions in this situation, contact your network administrator.
    • Exclude (Not recommended): If you click this button, it will set the risk so that it is no longer detectable. That is, the antivirus program will keep the security risk on your computer and will no longer detect it to remove from your computer.

    • Ignore or Skip: This option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only. It will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

    • Cancel: This option is new to Norton Antivirus 2005. It is used when Norton Antivirus 2005 has determined that it cannot delete a security risk. This Cancel option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only, and thus, the risk will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

      To actually delete the security risk:
      • Click its file name (under the Filename column).
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

    • Delete: This option will attempt to delete the detected files. In some cases, the scanner will not be able to do this.
      • If you see a message, "Delete Failed" (or similar message), manually delete the file.
      • Click the file name of the risk that is under the Filename column.
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

Important: If you are unable to start your Symantec antivirus product or the product reports that it cannot delete a detected file, you may need to stop the risk from running in order to remove it. To do this, run the scan in Safe mode. For instructions, read the document, How to start the computer in Safe Mode . Once you have restarted in Safe mode, run the scan again.

After the files are deleted, restart the computer in Normal mode and proceed with the next section.