Threat Explorer

The Threat Explorer is a comprehensive resource consumers can turn to for daily, accurate, up-to-date information on the latest threats, risks and vulnerabilities.

Joke.Owned

Joke.Owned

Updated:
13 February 2007
Risk Impact:
Medium
Systems Affected:
Windows

Behavior


Joke.Owned is a joke program which continuously pops-up dialog boxes that contain the word "OWNED" repeated many times on a colored background..

Symptoms


One or more files detected as Joke.Owned.

Behavior


This security risk must be installed manually.

Antivirus Protection Dates

  • Initial Rapid Release version 02 October 2014 revision 022
  • Latest Rapid Release version 07 May 2019 revision 006
  • Initial Daily Certified version 18 January 2006
  • Latest Daily Certified version 07 May 2019 revision 008
  • Initial Weekly Certified release date 18 January 2006
Click here for a more detailed description of Rapid Release and Daily Certified virus definitions.

When Joke.Owned is installed, it performs the following actions:
  1. Continuously pops-up dialog boxes with the following properties:

    Title: A random six digit number.
    Message body: The word "OWNED" repeated many times.

    Each dialog box will have a different background color. Here is an example of a dialog box displayed by this risk:



  2. May attempt to end the Windows Task Manager.



The following instructions pertain to all Symantec antivirus products that support security risk detection.
  1. Restart the compromised computer.
  2. Update the definitions.
  3. Run a full system scan.
For specific details on each of these steps, read the following instructions.

1. To restart the compromised computer
  1. Click Start > Shut Down.
  2. Select Restart from the drop down menu
  3. Click ok.

2. To update the definitions
To obtain the most recent definitions, start your Symantec program and run LiveUpdate.


3. To run the scan
  1. Start your Symantec antivirus program, and then run a full system scan.
  2. If any files are detected, and depending on which software version you are using, you may see one or more of the following options:

    Note: This applies only to versions of Norton AntiVirus that support security risk detection. If you are running a version of Symantec AntiVirus Corporate Edition that supports security risk detection, and security risk detection has been enabled, you will only see a message box that gives the results of the scan. If you have questions in this situation, contact your network administrator.
    • Exclude (Not recommended): If you click this button, it will set the risk so that it is no longer detectable. That is, the antivirus program will keep the security risk on your computer and will no longer detect it to remove from your computer.

    • Ignore or Skip: This option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only. It will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

    • Cancel: This option is new to Norton Antivirus 2005. It is used when Norton Antivirus 2005 has determined that it cannot delete a security risk. This Cancel option tells the scanner to ignore the risk for this scan only, and thus, the risk will be detected again the next time that you run a scan.

      To actually delete the security risk:
      • Click its file name (under the Filename column).
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

    • Delete: This option will attempt to delete the detected files. In some cases, the scanner will not be able to do this.
      • If you see a message, "Delete Failed" (or similar message), manually delete the file.
      • Click the file name of the risk that is under the Filename column.
      • In the Item Information box that displays, write down the full path and file name.
      • Then use Windows Explorer to locate and delete the file.

Important: If you are unable to start your Symantec antivirus product or the product reports that it cannot delete a detected file, you may need to stop the risk from running in order to remove it. To do this, run the scan in Safe mode. For instructions, read the document, How to start the computer in Safe Mode . Once you have restarted in Safe mode, run the scan again.

After the files are deleted, restart the computer in Normal mode and proceed with the next section.